An Important Week Ahead

by

Sunday, July 29, 2007

Slept. Had a sequestered morning. The sun shining in through my bay window. The life of the river has returned to normal, but for the ferry which seems to have been injured in the flood. The birds are happy and busy. The dogs are merrily walking their people. The green is green.

By my calculating eye, the river was up more than two meters last weekend. And a week later there is little sign of it. Except that the actors who were evacuated from the cottages across from the theatre have moved to their third hotel in a week. This includes the lovely Veronica, who we bumped into moving her third load of items from the upstairs of her cottage. Definitely NOT the thing one wants to be doing on the only day away from our gruelling schedule. I would have had a breakdown.

Went over to the Courtyard Cafe and tried to rectify some email issues. Pam was there busily sending and receiving news and support. I have been completely cut off by my server, and don’t know how to deal with it from here. So I’ve opened a web account to tide me over, it’s just very frustrating to be out of contact with home when one is so emotionally vulnerable. I simply do not have the wherewithal to deal with petty communication problems. Blah.

To shed a bit of light, my godson Harry Thomas arrived from Canada for a couple of days at the Ferryhouse. And because it was a glorious day we wandered around town for 2 1/2 hours. We wandered past all the pertinent sights, and popped in a couple of shops, and meandered through the Sunday market, where he bought a fabulous ring. We walked over to Old Town, past Hall’s Croft, and through the graveyard at Holy Trinity, and then sat by the river for a while. We went for a grand meal with Jenny and Jade, and by the end of that my head was bobbing.

I had a long chat on the phone with my dear friend David who I miss so much. And by 9:30 I had to go to bed. Harry stayed up to do some writing in the garden, and I crashed.

We are all working at our edge. And we have an important week ahead. A bit of sleep will certainly been an aid.

2 Responses to “An Important Week Ahead”

  1. Thom Allison Says:

    Miss Katie-kit,

    By fluke and only by fluke I came across your incredible, thrilling, exhilarating blog. My God. I was wondering how it’s been going and now I feel like I just got to read the “The Color Purple” of acting experiences. I can’t wait for the next “episode”.

    Thank you so much for agreeing to do this. What a wonderful way for all of us here at home to share this journey with you guys. Love to Corrine and to Lisa KC. I love those gals.

    I adore you and I may have to make a trip up to Ottawa to see the show. It sounds so exciting. See, we talked about wanting to do exciting theatre and you are doing it, my dear. Stay well and filled.

    Kisses,

    T.

  2. Kate Says:

    Thom!
    Thanks for your comment honey bunny. I’m having a riot writing all of this, and having a whale of an adventure. Not a lot of time to reply now, but I am thinking of you. With love as always.
    Kate

Comments are closed.


