Good night Swan. Good luck.

by

Saturday, August 18, 2007

This is the last morning I will be sitting in my bay window at The Old Ferry House, and writing an entry in my blog. It’s a dull morning, but not raining. There are canal boats moored up and down the river, and the rowers are busy… rowing. The Ferry is running but there aren’t that many people traversing the river as yet. The dogs are out running in the green with their various people in tow. The swans continue to swim to anyone who stands on the bank, hoping for a loaf of bread to
be pulled from a rucksack. There is one cygnet. When we began rehearsals there were three. The one who is left ten weeks later is big and strong, and soon to be a swan. Hmmm.

Two good shows to finish our run at the Swan Theatre. And the doors closed behind us. Now the Swan and the RST will go into major renovations and are scheduled to re-open in 2010. A sad time for many people there. There will be many lay-offs, as you can imagine, as what is usually a three theatre-space company is reduced to one theatre. That said, there is a desperate need for these renovations, and the proposed changes look miraculous. So I wish great things for the whole project.

For us there was sadness, and excitement and finishing our final show in Stratford-upon-Avon. Many people were in the house: Josette returned from Sweden, Peter Hinton and Paula Danckert were there from the NAC, Kelly’s friend Cedric Smith and her brother Bill came from America, my friends Julie and David, and my classmate Emma came. So there were lots of people to be excited about.

And we spilled into the Duck after the shows. A few from the Histories joined us. But others were already on their way: the next project, or home, or in Pippa’s case, a flight to Crete, were beckoning. So it was a motley crew that gathered. And stayed up to the wee hours.

dirty-duck.jpg
The infamous Dirty Duck pub

When I come back to the blog in two weeks in Newcastle, I will report
on the various holiday adventures. But till then I will say adieu.

Oh. I will leave you with one little story that gives me an understanding of the legacy of this company, the RSC. Brenda in wigs told me last night as she was rolling my pin-curls, the wig I wear in The Penelopiad was built for Alan Howard in Peter Brook’s production of A Midsummer Nights Dream. Yes. That Dream. You know. The production that changed the face of Shakespeare productions forever. A bit on information that goes right through my body and puts me smack dab in
the middle of this amazing experience.

Good night Swan. Good luck.

black-swan.jpg
The real name of the Dirty Duck–the Black Swan

